Day with a fellow artsy chick

Happy Saturday! Hoping everyone is having a peaceful and relaxing three-day weekend. Today I had a ball, it was an artsy day spent with an amazing friend, Lauren.  Besides being a talented professional writer, she creates pure magic with her Canon…photos to drool over! Especially her food shots…you’ll see! Lauren has the insight and depth to capture the tiny nuances in life, those subtle things that many of us unfortunately miss. She reminds us to stop sleep walking through life, and see the beauty surrounding each us. Her photos have taught me to look at things in a new way…with my heart, instead of my head.    

 Miss L. can make the most ordinary things come to life! Whether it’s a pair of worn out tennies, salt and pepper shakers at a corner café, or the muddy grille of a pick-up truck, Lauren will make it look like the coolest thing on the planet. Imagine luscious photos paired with words that make you feel like you are actually there! I’m positive you will add Lauren’s site to your favorites list. I click on her blog before I go to bed….it’s a  peaceful way to end my day. You can visit Lauren Nelson at http://theurbanhippie.wordpress.com  

Her photos are ideal for pendants, suncatchers, key chains, charms, etc. Ms. Lauren arrived this morning smiling and with the proper fuel needed…beverages from Starbucks! A girl after my heart! Mission for the day….teach Lauren to solder! My fellow artsy chick came ready with her brand new soldering wand (compliments of Pop),  and a handful of extremely cool Laurenized artsy photos. Her first pendant turned out adorable, and I think she is hooked!  

Sweet Lauren soldering like a total pro!

 

I was so touched when Lauren handed me a charming package wrapped in brown parchment paper tied with twine. Totally Lauren and so perfect. My heart did a happy dance as soon as I saw what was inside! It was a beautiful hand-crafted collage box created by Lauren herself! My happy dance got even happier when I lifted the lid, inside the box were  a sea of tiny paper scrolls! Each miniature scroll has an important message typed in the center. I call my magical box a  “Wisdom Chest”.  

 Lauren is an “out of the box” thinker, which is something I truly admire in her. Her artwork reflects positive energy, hope, empowerment, fun, and reminds us not to take ourselves too seriously. It’s hard to believe Lauren is a “twentysomthing”…..I hope I will be like her when I grow up!   

This is the front of my cherished little box!

 

This is the top, I love it!

 

 I am going to open one scroll of wisdom each day, and share it with you. What a great way to start the New Year! Thank you Lauren of Light for giving me an irreplaceable treasure that I will cherish for life~ 

A treasure chest filled with wisdom.

 

Today's Words of Wisdom. thanks L.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day with a fellow artsy chick

  1. Maureen says:

    Wow!!! That is amazing (all of it!)! What a fabulous way to spend the day Cindy! Have a wonderful week…and I know with each little scroll opened we will all reap the wisdom that Lauren so mindfully wrapped! xoxo M~

Leave a Reply

