what’s happenin’ in the studio

Almost T.G.I.F.! Another rainy day here in central California, no complaints from me, I’m actually enjoying the rain. It makes me want to nest and get cozy. I have a pot roast in the crock pot, a fire going, and I have been making artsy treasures most of the day. The last few days I ‘ve been in one of my strong angel moods, feels like my winged friends are tapping on my door. I am once again reminded to keep calling on my angels for help and guidance. I wouldn’t describe myself as religious, guess you could say I am more on the spiritual side. I know in my heart there is something bigger than all of us. 

I suppose like most people, I tend to get caught up in everyday stuff….groceries, car rides to and from school, scrubbing floors, showers, and windows, etc., it’s  easy to numb out and miss the tiny moments. I like to hang trinkets and treasures through out my home that remind me to slow down and quiet my mind. Things that remind me to feel gratitude and to trust in God’s love and his plan. A few of my favorite spiritual reminders are my minature angel windchimes, my pink sandcastle light (a lighthouse for my angels…stays lit 24/7) and my Mary candle that is lit daily. Last night I was a messy artist and had tons of fun with Modge Podge, wire, clipart, and beads. I came up with the artsy angel wings that you see below. I put a thin wire loop at the top, which makes them perfect for hanging just about anywhere!.Thought they would also make fun gift toppers too! I will be placing some Artsy Angel Wings in my Etsy store soon.

These little tchotchkes remind me of my ever present higher power, and also the importance of  Getting Zen…that phrase makes me giggle, sounds so granola bar! Let’s see what does Zen mean to me? Hmmmm, okay I will get Zen right now…deep breath… here goes; I am now looking through my art studio window at a barren rose-bush. It’s actually quite beautiful  in its naked form. It is overgrown, and each spindly branch is fighting for first place in a race to heaven. Not quite ready to bid their good-byes, a few pale leaves cleverly hang on. Each leaf bows slightly from the weight of dancing silvery beads that slowly drip in unison. A few shriveled buds linger on the high branches, like tired soldiers after a  hard-fought war. I am quiet. I am in touch. My heart is full and my body feels calm. Simply put, I am blessed. This is zen. All you have to do is turn off the tv, the radio, and most of all your mind. Then look at your surroundings with fresh eyes. Pretend you are an alien and you just landed here on Earth for the first time. Look, smell, and hear what is happening around you, really use all of your senses and experience the environment. Fill you heart with love and trust that everything is happening exactly as it should. There is beauty in the tiniest of things, all you have to do is look with new eyes. I can hear the rain dripping down my water-spout as I am typing this. I stop typing for a second, and close my eyes…the spout sounds just like a creek in the woods. A rhythmic, echoed, and rather primal song just for me….it’s the magic of zen! Listen quietly to your own place and space, and you will begin to see magic in the most unexpected and surprising things….when you take the time to do this…..it’s a lovely gift you give to your soul!

Last night in moments of blissful wonder, I created some whimsical wing hangings…haven’t come up with a name for them yet. I have a set of wings hanging in my window now, they make me happy and hopeful, but most of all they remind  me to call on my angels, and to stop and smell….I mean “watch” the roses!

God Bless and Happy Daydreaming!

 

 
 
 

Words of Wisdom for the Day (thanks L.)

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to what’s happenin’ in the studio

  1. Nelson says:

    I love my angels wings so much! They move when they think I’m not looking. Thank you!

  2. Maureen says:

    More masterpieces for all of us to enjoy! I find myself saying “Wow”…”Wow” each time I come here! Beautiful Cindy! Here’s one of my favorite quotes….
    “We are each of us angels with only one wing, and we can only fly by embracing one another. (~Luciano de Crescenzo~)
    Love ya~ M~ xoxo

Leave a Reply

