Midway Madness

midway madness

intoxicating midnight air

makes me crave purple painted ponies

and giant wheels of speeding light.

i’m a morphing shutter speed freak

addicted to bending metal

with just one click.

a time stopping iso wizardress

transforming ordinary into

extraordinary.

hypnotized by blurry lines

and twisted neon shades

a flurry of delicious

dopamine driven images

i’m a slave to my rebel

Last weekend I remembered what it feels like to be a free-spirited young girl again. While L. and I were working on a project in the “camper”, ferris wheels suddenly became the topic of conversation. You could see her (ferris) wheels turning as she said “Hey the county fair is still in town, wanna go?!” I paused, glanced at the clock, and surprised myself when I said yes! It was almost midnight.

We excitedly grabbed our Canons, worn-out flip flops, and ran out the door. Luckily we made it in time to shoot a few photos. As usual my artsy pal taught me a few amazing tricks with the camera. Here are some images from that night.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Midway Madness

  1. Maggie says:

    Cute love. I like that heart cutout, and your lovely poem! You make the fair look like such a pleasant place to be.

  2. Lauren says:

    Wow, C — these images make me so happy because they perfectly portray the magic of the night and how connected you were to each shot. I loved this night, and watching you as you were totally taken up with the camera, the lights, the movement — everything. It’s so fun to watch you find your eye and style, and to know you are really, really getting it! I feel like you are discovering a new side of life, and it’s amazing to watch. I’m so happy to have a shutter sister who gets so excited by a scene or potential photo. And your fearlessness is so awe-inspiring. You just worked it with those carnies and you got your beautiful shots. Cheers to spontaneity and chicks who click.

Leave a Reply

