Beauty and the Beauty

Being a mom is one of my greatest joys. My daughter, Emma Rose, is the light of my life. An old-souled 16-year-old who marches to her own special beat. My baby girl is now taller than me. I’m now the one who rests my head on her chest when we hug. She continues to amaze me with each passing year.

I find myself impatiently waiting to see where life takes her….while simultaneously wishing she would never grow up. Her soulful brown eyes tell a story of vulnerability intertwined with strength. She stands tall and speaks with fairness and conviction. She still giggles at cartoons, is intrigued with matters of the mind, handles a camera like a pro, has a natural sense of style, loves and respects vintage everything, has long eyelashes that made willowy shadows on her cheeks, she laughs with her eyes, and she cracks up at most of my jokes. Long story short, she’s one of the dearest people on the planet. Life just wouldn’t be the same without my little bug.

One of my favorite things to do is to watch Emma ride her horse. She fell head over heels in love with horses at an early age. She began riding in the third grade and nine years later she is now an accomplished horsewoman. I nervously sit in the stands as I watch her fly around the ring on her gray mare, Holly. Brimming with pride, I’m in awe at the mature grace she shows on this 1,500 lb. animal. I remind myself not to yell out, “You Go Girl!” or “Yes, That’s My Kid!!” I just hold my breath and try not to blink so I don’t miss a second of the magic.

Emma competes in a western event called reining. She currently holds 5th place in her northern Californian division. Here are some recent photos of Emma and Holly competing.

P.S. Wednesday I’m hitting the highway on a girl’s road trip! Yep, off to the land of fun and sun! I’ll be back at the end of next week with tons of new pics to share! Stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beauty and the Beauty

  1. Beautiful – the words, the photos and your relationship.

Leave a Reply

