Art For An Angel

Life is extremely fragile, and I was recently reminded of this. Two friends of ours, a couple who literally have hearts of gold, lost their beautiful granddaughter to a boating accident three months ago. Ashley was only 20 years old and had a bright future ahead of her. She was a star volleyball player, taught Sunday school, loved life, and had a golden heart just like her Grandma and Grandpa. I’m convinced she’s sporting extra sparkly wings and is sending tons of love to her family and friends.

When I was told about the tragedy, I knew a sympathy card wouldn’t be able to convey all of my feelings. I sat at my art table and created the following painting as a gift for the family.

Ashley will forever live in the many hearts she magically touched.

The photo limits what you can see. The piece is actually very sparkly, with rhinestones around the entire heart. The hand-crafted wings are covered with german crushed glass and really catch the light. In the center of the tree there's a 1940's rhinestone brooch that sparkles brightly.

Antique earrings were used at the base of the wings.

Ashley's jersey number was 14.

I like how the light shines through the wings.

A Tree of Life.

Ashley, a real live Pretty Girl.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Art For An Angel

  1. Maggie says:

    Cindy, what a wonderful gift for a family going through such a time. I’m sure they appreciate your kind words and heartfelt artwork.
    What a tragedy, but I agree she must have extra sparkly wings and making great use of them!

  2. Such a sad thing, I can’t even imagine dealing with a loss like that. Your beautiful art is a kind and generous tribute to help heal and sooth. You are living kindness.

  3. Sharon L Smith says:

    BEAUTIFUL! Thanks for sharing……….

  4. Lauren says:

    So touching, and amazing. This made me tear up, and I’m not sure if it’s entirely because Ashley’s death is such a tragedy or because you put so much emotion into this piece. Both are simply beautiful. I think this is a wonderful tribute to a beautiful girl who will be remembered forever for her bright smile and heart.

Leave a Reply

