Hot…Hot…Hot!

I’m officially addicted to something I thought I wouldn’t like….Bikrim Yoga. A dear friend of mine has been a practicing yogini for quite some time and has gently encouraged me to try Bikrim for many years now. I think the thing that made me shy away from this form of yoga, is the hot room the classes are taught in. I wasn’t sure if I could handle the 105 degree temp. and 40% humidity. I was wrong….I love it! The warm room allows the body to become more pliable, which lessons the risk of injury. I’ve never been a fan of sweating, but I really dig the feeling now…and man, let me tell you……you sweat! You have to be very hydrated before you enter the classroom, and continue to drink plenty of fluids throughout the day.

Why 105 degrees you ask?
The heat flushes away the waste products, the toxins of all the glands and organs of your body. It provides a natural irrigation of the body through the circulatory system, with the help of the respiratory system. It brings nourishment to every cell of your body so that each one can perform its function and keep your body healthy. When you sweat, impurities are flushed out of the body through the skin.

The class runs 90 minutes long and consists of 26 postures or asanas. The class also includes 2 breathing exercises which really energize both body and mind. Since starting the classes I’ve been able to cut my Parkinson’s meds in half. My body feels much calmer and relaxed. I’ve lost five pounds and feel more balanced and grounded than I have in a long time. One Bikrim class can actually burn anywhere between 500 to 1500 calories. Pretty cool huh?!

I’ve gone everyday, and my daughter is going to join me for the first time this afternoon. I’m hoping she loves it as much as I do….I’ll let you know how it goes!

Here a few watercolors I recently painted…thought they might make you smile.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hot…Hot…Hot!

  1. kris says:

    I love the Yoga pose art. Quite creative and beautiful. I too have PD. I am relatively young to have PD at 45 years of age, and I have been receiving treatment for 5 years now. Recently, I retired from my career in order to focus on creating a more relaxed and joy-filled life, which includes establishing an exercise routine. It’s definitely time that I take a Yoga class or tai chi, but for some reason I’ve been hesitant. Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. Gina Bojarski says:

    Wow! She has convinced you. I wish I had the nerve to go. I am afraid, I hate to sweat it makes me anxious. So happy that it is helping you

    • Hi old friend! So nice to hear from you! Hope you and the kids are doing great. I’m really surprised I like Bikrim so much…I’ve always had an aversion to sweating too. Go figure. Emma wants to go back again today!

  3. Oh Cindy – I’m so happy for you. I love that you could cut your meds down and lose the weight too, that is wonderful news. I’m so distracted with hot flashes right now, the thought of this really makes me hot and not in a good way. Love the fun paintings. My pose would be flat on the floor with someone standing over me fanning and pouring ice cubes over me. xxxooo Kim

    • My life is turning into a sweat fest! Between soaked nighties when I wake up (menopausal nite sweats suck!) and soaked yoga clothes at the end of the day…I’m feeling a bit like a wet rat!

Leave a Reply

