Remember Me?

Yoo Hoo my lovelies…I’m back. I took an unexpected blog sabbatical and woke up this morning with the urge to return. Not sure why my typing fingers suddenly went on strike…I think I needed to shut out the the world for a bit.

Here’s some latest ramblings…

I watched an interesting film called “Hesher” last night… a quirky drama/comedy about coming to grips with pain and heartache. The message was to value what you have in life, and not to forfeit yourself while grieving. It was a touching and poignant reminder for me.

I’m currently caught in a tiny web of fear. The last six years has taught me to sit quietly in the silk threads of discomfort. I admit, I still initially wiggle a bit, and then remember “the struggle” is what got me tangled up in the first place. Sort of like a gold chain that get’s knotted in a jewelry box… sometimes we need to walk away, only to find the twisted metal magically untangle after a short rest. I’m quietly resting in a sticky uncomfortable web right now. I remember…this too shall pass….and return. The currents of life bathing us with sorrow and joy when we least expect it.

For me a deep breath and fresh perspective help unwind life’s mysterious complications. I suppose that’s why I’m so drawn to yoga. The hot room reminds me to stay in the moment while trusting the process. The key of course, is to practice each pose free from all judgement…especially when a posture looks downright crappy. That’s a tough one for me…I can play judge, priest, and devil’s advocate better than an over-bearing mother and neurotic nanny rolled into one. The yoga somehow quiets the noise that rents space in my head….my job is to remember that I have the power to evict all brain babble.

I like this affirmation I came across the other day:

I kick my own ass and wash my own brain.
I push my own buttons and trick my own pain.
I burn my own flags and roast my own heroes.
I mock my own fears and cheer my own zeroes.

Nothing can stop me from teasing my shadow.
I’m full of empty and backwards bravado.
My wounds are tattoos that reveal my true beauty.
I turn tragic to magic and make bliss my duty.

I honor my faults till they become my virtues.
I play jokes on my nightmares
till I’m sure they won’t hurt you.

I won’t accept gifts that infringe on my freedom.
I shun sacred places that stir up my boredom.
I change my name daily, pretend to be nobody.
I fight for the truth if it’s majestically rowdy.

Gravity fucks me and I fuck it back.
The sun is my sex slave, the moon smokes my crack.
I pump up my laughter with idiot laughter.
I’m living happily, in love ever after.

I brag about what I can’t do and don’t know.
I take off my clothes to those I don’t know.
I’m so far beyond lazy, I work like a god.
I’m totally crazy; in fact that’s my job.

Hope you’re day dreaming of strawberry fields forever….while saying “ahhhhh” in your softest tone. 😉

xoxo,
Cindy
I Can Fly Poem 173

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Remember Me?

  1. Just as I expected, this brought me great joy this morning! Thanks for giving me another reason to smile!

  2. cyndylooo says:

    Cindy … so good to see you that you are back! It is ironic because I was at the Lodi Yoga studio this morning and asked Joanne if she had seen you lately. I haven’t seen you for several months and checked your blog late last week and realized you hadn’t posted since February. I’m glad to see you as you have been on my mind. Hope all is well. Your yoga friend … Cindy

    • Hey friend…good to hear from you. Yep, still sweating it out on most days…you’ll usually find me in the noon power class humming Namaste. 🙂
      Hope you’re well too!

  3. Marion says:

    Ahhh, welcome back! I missed your blogs. Love this one – a real thinker! Was thinking about you lately, I will be in New York next weekend for the Unity Walk again and will keep all eyes open for your “Mikey!!” Hugs!

Leave a Reply

